If you have booked the Certified Data Center Technician Professional (CDCTP) program from CNet Training and chosen remote attendance, you are not signing up for a one-sitting proctored exam. You are joining a live, five-day class from your own computer, and your qualification comes from the work you do across that week. This guide walks through what “checking in” means for that format: the joining email, the software, the learning portal, the daily rhythm and the etiquette CNet asks for. It also says plainly where CNet’s public pages are silent, mostly on how the assessment itself works.
Table of Contents
How This Program Is Delivered
CNet Training is an Uptime Education company and an approved Pearson BTEC center. It teaches the CDCTP in a classroom, at a client’s premises, or through live instructor-led remote attendance. In remote attendance you join a “Smart Room” fitted with audio and video equipment, so you can see and hear the instructor and every other learner, and they can see and hear you. CNet says the class runs the same way a classroom one does, with set start and end times each day, a lunch break and constant interaction.
| Item | What the official sources say |
|---|---|
| Program | Certified Data Center Technician Professional (CDCTP) |
| Provider | CNet Training, an Uptime Education company |
| Duration | 5 days; CNet’s overview describes it as 70% theory and 30% practical |
| Delivery options | Classroom, private on-site, or live instructor-led remote attendance |
| Remote class size | Limited to 16 per Smart Room |
| Platforms | A virtual classroom (conference client) plus Moodle, CNet’s online learning portal |
| Qualification | Pearson BTEC Level 4 Professional Award, available for courses delivered in English |
| Certification | Official CDCTP certification, post-nominal title, digital badge and logo |
| Extra awards | CPD recognition and 5 IEEE Continuing Education Units |
| Renewal | Re-certify every three years through an online learning management system |
| Prerequisite | Experience working in a data center environment is essential |
| Proctoring and exam platform | None published |
Three points matter if you are joining from outside the UK or US. CNet says it runs 15 Smart Rooms at once across many time zones, so filter its program dates by your own time zone before you book. The BTEC qualification is listed as available for courses delivered in English, and CNet also publishes CDCTP overviews in Spanish and Mandarin, so check whether a class in another language still leads to the BTEC award (confirm on the official page). And the remote attendance pages carry modification dates ranging from 2020 to 2026, so confirm the software and equipment details in your own joining instructions.
Pre-Course Preparation
Hardware and Network Requirements
These come from CNet’s remote attendance pages and the CDCTP program page. There is no proctoring software, so there is no system test beyond joining the virtual classroom.
- Computer: a laptop or PC with a webcam and microphone. CNet says you may use any device but publishes recommendations, and the CDCTP page requires a webcam-and-microphone laptop.
- Internet: “unrestricted” connectivity, with more than 4 Mbps dedicated suggested. Unrestricted is the key word, because a locked-down employer network can block the virtual classroom.
- Browser: the latest browser, installed before day one.
- Camera, microphone and speakers: a USB camera, microphone and separate speakers are recommended, or integrated ones. CNet accepts a built-in webcam.
- Second monitor: recommended. CNet calls dual monitors ideal for viewing an extended desktop alongside the class. This is the opposite of a proctored exam, where a second screen is banned.
- Software: an application for reading and annotating PDFs, and one for editing standard office documents such as Word, PowerPoint and Excel.
- Conference client: a small browser plug-in or client your Joining Instructions email links to. The page tells you to follow the link, choose “To Connect to Virtual Training Room”, then run Step 1, which installs the client and tests audio, video and connection. The wording on that page dates from 2020 (confirm on the official page).
CNet does not publish operating system versions, VPN rules or headphone rules, so none are stated here (confirm on the official page). Headphones are a sensible choice in a live class, but check your joining email.
Exam Tip: Run the client’s audio, video and connection test on the exact computer and network you will use all week, and do it before day one, not at 8:55 on the morning of the class. If your employer’s network blocks the conference client, you will want to learn that now, while there is time to switch to another network or computer.
Identity and Registration
What matters is that your name matches across your booking, your Moodle account and your certificates. CNet does not say which name is printed on the BTEC award or the CDCTP certificate, so use the name you want on your qualification when you register, and confirm it with CNet if you ever change it (confirm on the official page). For a global audience the simplest approach is to register with the name exactly as it appears on your passport.
Exam Tip: If your name on your work email, your booking and your passport differ, tell CNet before the program starts. Qualifications and digital badges are issued from the registration record, and fixing a spelling afterwards is slower than getting it right on day one.
Learning Space Requirements
- Choose a quiet space where you can speak and listen without interruption, such as a home office or a spare room.
- Set your camera so the instructor and your classmates can see you clearly, because CNet asks for cameras to be on at all times.
- Light your face from the front, and avoid a bright window behind you.
- Keep your desk ready for note-taking and for the exercises, and arrange a second screen if you have one.
- Plan your meals around the lunch break, since the day runs to set times.
- Tell the people around you your hours, because the class is live and you will be speaking in group discussions and break-out rooms.
CNet lets learners join from home, an office or a mission-critical facility. It says some learners attend from near their facility because they cannot travel to a classroom.
Step-by-Step Check-in Walkthrough
CNet does not publish a numbered check-in procedure, so this sequence is assembled from its remote attendance pages and program page. Your joining email is the authority on the details.
- Read your Joining Instructions email. What to do: look for the links to the virtual classroom, the Moodle login and the program start time. Sticking point: the email lands in spam. CNet itself says to check spam and junk folders for replies. Fix: check those folders, and use CNet’s contact details if nothing arrives.
- Install and test the conference client. What to do: follow the “To Connect to Virtual Training Room” link, run Step 1, and test your audio, video and connection. Sticking point: a company laptop that blocks software installs. Fix: use a personal computer, or ask your IT team to approve the client ahead of time.
- Log in to Moodle. What to do: use the login details CNet sends before the program. Moodle holds the program materials and is where you upload assignments. Sticking point: a forgotten or unreceived password. Fix: ask CNet for support before the start date.
- Join the virtual classroom early on day one. What to do: be online and set up before the session start time. Sticking point: time zones. Fix: convert the start time to your own time zone the day before, using the program dates page.
- Do the Moodle walkthrough with your instructor. What to do: CNet says your instructor guides you through the Moodle layout and functions at the start of day one. Sticking point: not knowing where assignments go. Fix: ask during the walkthrough, and use the chat if you are unsure.
- Take part in the live sessions. What to do: keep your camera on, mute your microphone when you are not speaking, use the raised-hand feature to join a conversation, and use the chat for questions and comments. Sticking point: background noise. Fix: mute by default, and unmute only when called on.
- Work in the break-out rooms and case studies. What to do: the program includes group and individual case studies, and CNet uses virtual break-out rooms for group discussions and simulated meetings. Sticking point: shared documents. Fix: have your office applications ready, since you may produce documents during exercises.
- Submit your assignments through Moodle. What to do: upload your work to the portal as your instructor directs. Fix: ask your instructor on day one for each deadline and file format, and write them down.
- Wait for confirmation of your result. What to do: CNet awards the BTEC, certification and badge on completion. Fix: ask your instructor or CNet how and when you will be told.
What Your Instructor and CNet Can See
There is no room scan in this format, and no proctor in the exam sense. CNet’s live class instead relies on visibility: remote attendees can see and hear everyone, and everyone can see and hear them. These are the things to expect and prepare for:
- Your camera feed: CNet asks for your camera to be on at all times, so the instructor and the other learners see you throughout.
- Your participation: the instructor runs the live sessions and break-out groups, and CNet asks you to put questions and comments in the chat.
- Your work: assignments uploaded through Moodle are CNet’s record of what you have produced.
- Your timing: being online and set up at each session start is an explicit request.
Rules During the Program
Tier 1: Etiquette CNet Asks You to Follow
- Be online and set up at the start time of each session.
- Keep your camera switched on at all times.
- Mute your microphone when you are not speaking.
- Use the raised-hand policy to ask for access to a conversation.
- Use the online chat for questions and comments.
CNet does not say what happens if you do not follow these, though a live class makes the consequences practical: you miss material, and you may disrupt other learners.
Tier 2: Assessment Integrity and Misconduct
If you are unhappy with how you were treated or assessed, CNet publishes a two-stage complaints process.
Stage 1 is a written complaint to the person who dealt with you, their manager or the Compliance Manager, acknowledged within five working days with a response within twenty working days.
Stage 2 is an appeal of that response, with the same timings. If you are still dissatisfied you can ask for a review by CNet’s Board of Directors, and for complaints about the award of a BTEC qualification you can go to Pearson. CNet says these timescales are indicative.
Breaks, Notes, Drinks and Equipment
Breaks. CNet’s FAQ says remote classes run to set start and end times each day, with a break for lunch. It does not publish a schedule of shorter breaks, so ask your instructor at the start of day one (confirm on the official page).
Notes and paper. This is a class, not a closed exam, and CNet expects you to work with course material. You need a PDF reading and annotation application, and Moodle gives you full access to the program materials. Whether you may use paper notes during assessed tasks is not stated (confirm on the official page).
Calculators and software. CNet requires office applications for editing standard documents. It publishes no calculator rule.
Exam Tip: Ask your instructor on day one three questions: what will be assessed, how it will be submitted, and by when. CNet’s public pages do not give those details, and in a five-day program the assignments are the part you can least afford to find out about late.
Remote Attendance vs. Classroom
| Factor | Remote attendance | Classroom |
|---|---|---|
| Live instructor | Yes; live and interactive | Yes |
| Content | CNet says the same content as a classroom, delivered to the same schedule | Standard |
| Hands-on elements | For technician programs, CNet uses online tools to evidence situational analysis, problem solving and decision making | Delivered in person |
| Group work | Virtual break-out rooms | In-room groups |
| Materials and assignments | Moodle | Not stated |
| Equipment | Your own laptop, webcam, microphone and connection | Not stated |
| Travel | None | Travel and accommodation |
| Main risk | Technical problems and distractions at home | Cost and time away from work |
Who Remote Attendance Suits
Choose it if you work shifts, work close to a mission-critical facility, live far from a CNet location, or want to avoid travel costs. CNet also says it suits learners who want to attend from an environment that works for them.
Who the Classroom Suits
Choose it if your home or office is noisy, your internet is unreliable, or your employer’s network restricts connectivity. Because the CDCTP includes practical work, the classroom may suit you better if you want hands-on access to equipment. CNet describes the program as 30% practical but does not detail what remote learners do instead (confirm on the official page).
Exam Day Checklist
There is no single exam day, so this checklist covers day one of the program and then each day after it.
The Night Before
- Convert the start time to your own time zone.
- Find your Joining Instructions email, your virtual classroom link and your Moodle login.
- Run the conference client’s audio, video and connection test again.
- Log in to Moodle and check what you can already access.
- Charge your laptop and your camera if it is battery-powered.
- Clear your desk and set up your second monitor if you have one.
60 Minutes Before
- Eat and use the bathroom.
- Close email, chat and other programs you do not need during class.
- Tell the people around you your hours.
- Check your internet connection.
30 Minutes Before
- Restart your computer.
- Open your PDF application and your office applications.
- Log in to Moodle to confirm it works.
- Open the virtual classroom link and wait to be admitted.
During the Program
- Be online and set up before every session start.
- Keep your camera on at all times.
- Mute your microphone unless you are speaking.
- Raise your hand to join a conversation, and use the chat for questions.
- Note each assignment deadline and format as you hear it.
- Upload assignments through Moodle as directed.
FAQ
Technical Problems
What happens if my internet drops during a session?
CNet does not publish a policy on dropped connections, including whether you can catch up on a missed session (confirm on the official page). Its FAQ says members of the CNet team are on hand to help with technical queries, so contact them as soon as you reconnect. Keep your instructor informed through the chat.
Can I use my laptop’s built-in webcam?
Yes. CNet recommends a USB camera, microphone and separate speakers, but says integrated ones are fine.
Can I use my work laptop or a VPN?
CNet requires unrestricted internet connectivity, which a work laptop on a corporate network often does not give you. It does not mention VPNs (confirm on the official page). Test your work computer on the network you will use, and use a personal computer if the conference client will not run.
Timing, Registration and Results
What if I miss a session or join late?
CNet asks you to be online and set up at the start of each session. It does not publish a lateness or absence policy for the CDCTP, or say whether a missed day affects your qualification (confirm on the official page). Tell your instructor immediately and ask what you need to do to catch up.
Will I get the BTEC award if I attend remotely?
CNet says the BTEC Level 4 Professional Award in Certified Data Center Technician Professional is available for courses delivered in English, and lists it alongside remote attendance. It does not say whether remote attendance changes the assessment (confirm on the official page).
What do I need to renew my certification?
CNet says each certification must be renewed every three years through an online learning management system. An older recertification page lists 20 hours for the CDCTP (10 of them core unit) and says CNet contacts you within 12 months of your expiry date (confirm on the official page).
Results and Complaints
What if I think my result is wrong?
CNet’s complaints procedure is the route that is documented: a written complaint, a Stage 2 appeal, then a Board review or Pearson for BTEC award complaints. Ask CNet whether a separate assessment appeal exists (confirm on the official page).
References and Sources
Where the Facts in This Guide Come From
Program content, duration, qualification, certification and renewal come from CNet Training’s CDCTP program page and certifications page. Delivery, equipment, software, Moodle and etiquette come from CNet’s remote attendance, remote attendance requirements and remote attendance FAQ pages. Complaint stages come from CNet’s feedback and complaints page. The Uptime Institute listing was used to confirm that CNet awards the qualification. CNet does not publish a proctored exam, ID rules, a malpractice policy or assessment details for the CDCTP, so this guide does not describe them.
References
- CNet Training (US): Certified Data Center Technician Professional (CDCTP)
- CNet Training: Remote attendance
- CNet Training: Remote attendance requirements
- CNet Training: Remote attendance FAQs
- CNet Training: Feedback and complaints
- CNet Training: Certifications and qualifications
- CNet Training: Re-certification
- Uptime Institute: Certified Data Center Technician Professional (CDCTP)
- CNet Training: CDCTP program overview (PDF)











Comments